top of page
  • Abhi

Tangled Bones

I've lost track of time

sleeping with you

under the banyan tree.


Is it morning? Night?

I do not know.


Flowers grow

from my eyes

and i can't see you

sitting beside me.


But I know you're still there.

A hundred years you've laid with me

And a thousand more

you will lie.


I know your cold eyes

look at me with endless warmth.


I know your hand

is reaching out to me

with a lavender in each knuckle.


I know you were wronged, love,

by the gods and their godless children

who told us we were loving wrong.


Close your eyes.

In your blanket of moss

roof of leaves,

bed of roots,

the worms will kiss your wounds

and close them with mushroom bandages,

while the beetles sing you to sleep.


Let them rot in their stone tombs,

You and I, we will rest here

with our tangled bones

and our necklaces of rope,

Until we become the soil.

16 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
bottom of page