top of page
  • Gauri Srinivas

Glass-like Personality

If I were an object, i would be glass,

Frail and transparent, with no stance or class;

Evident to people and the mass,

No colour or texture, and something you’d walk past.


You could add layers and I’d still be plain,

This would happen even with a rose tinted stain;

I could be your window or door but never your home,

After all, a chair could never be a throne.


If you aimed a stone at me, I’d break,

Nothing to worry, after all; I had nothing at stake,

My pieces cause more harm that I ever could, on the whole,

I’m picked up quickly; after all; I’m neither cotton nor charcoal.


They replace my broken glass shards with a new wooden slab,

It has everything that I always lacked,

Strength, turgidity, stability,

It wasn’t opaque, it hid the transparency.


My broken self was discarded away,

In a torn plastic bag, I lay;

Cutting through everyone who picked me up,

They bleed out much with my one little touch.


I’m a danger and a hazard but not shattered,

If we think of it, would it even matter?

Nonetheless I was always put up to be destroyed,

Clear in sight but with an abyss of a void.


I reflect sunlight because I cannot deflect my anger,

From the get go, I should’ve known, this wouldn’t get any better;

I was glass, temporary and nothing permanent,

See through, invalid and indeterminant.

59 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page