top of page
  • Tanishka Singh

My Yellow Children

Morning sun in the dark blue phase,

Lime green on the sidewalk,

and my yellow avens,

Sprang from warmth,

And denial of the world.

My lil hungry boys and girls.

wiltin on to a life,

With the breeze

They twirl.


Streets don't suss,

The yellow in blue,

It's always the,

Black and grey

The con-fronting view.

Upon this concrete,

This helianthus bloomed,

An exception,

You won't notice.

If you never dared to look,

Below thy self esteemed,

A heart so crooked.

My children walked miles alone.

Barefoot, feebled ,

In there bony hands,

They held no books.


And then the day arrives when,

A wiff of wind,

showed you the sky.

A bright blue world,

Unreachable, up too high.

Shining through

Is This yellow light.

This golden hue,

This amber white.

I see you ,

topaz in green,

My dancing muse.

A mind so clean,

A Path so cleared.

My children dreamt this nation,

They'd never felt so seen.

Not the world,

From your tv screen.


So I sang to them.

Hang on little tulip,

Hang on little rose.

You're not timid,

You're not yellow.

You're precious,

And not controlled.

By this ruthless

Country and these

Coal tar roads.

So spree my tulips.

'n Learn my avens.

'Neath your mother

For this is heaven.

157 views

Recent Posts

See All

Komentarji


bottom of page