top of page
  • Simran Pattnaik

Nightmare.

Oh! Here he comes again.

Hush, hush kids.

Don't move, just stay behind me.

"Mom, what's wrong with daddy?"

He's just playing, honey.

He is. Is he?


With a knife in his hand, calling out my name;

in a sneaky loud musky tone,

"I can hear you breathe.

You can't hide behind the closet for long.”

His footsteps growing louder and louder.

Every time I clutch a part of my breath in my fist,

it stumbles upon my feet.

Jade, the little one couldn't resist.


"I'm scared, Momma"

So am I. So am I.

I pick him up in my arms,

his head buried in my shoulders—

a sweaty, smoky dark room;

when something hits my feet.

The knife, is it? I can't move.

Oh, it bleeds. It holds me still.


My other hand lands a little down my waist on Julia's head,

slowly reaching her pale face,

wiping the tears rolling down her pink cheeks.

Hush! Julia. I can barely say.

The door screeches and tears roll down my wan cheeks.

For God's sake, John. Stop it please.

In the dark room, that is.


I can hear him grin, he grabs Jade, and I stand still.

I wipe blood off my face or tears instead?

Knife in his hands, red with Jade.

The sharp edge penetrates my soft skin.

Oh! It's all dark. Darker.

And nothing is all I feel.

Julia is safe. Julia is safe.

Hiding behind me.

Just like every other day,

I feverishly wake up to soaked sheets.

A nightmare that it always is.


But tonight, for some unknown reason it's not sweat,

but blood instead.

But tonight, for some unknown reason

I wipe blood off my face or tears instead?

Knife in my hands, red with Jade.

John's feet are bleeding and his face is pale.

Where is Julia? Julia is safe. Julia is safe.

Hiding behind me.

98 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page