top of page
  • Sarah Fathima

The first time you danced

I know you'll remember

The first time you danced.

You'll remember I couldn't make it to the performance

You'll remember how much you asked.


You'll remember how it made you feel

Like stitches bursting out of seams -

Your silent screams,

Your whispered dreams.


I wonder if you slipped on stage

When my car skidded on the road.

I wonder if your pirouette was faster

Than the spin of my silver ford.


I know you threw away your shoes-

I heard the bang

Now will you still sway to music?

Or will you just stand?


I know you'll remember the first time you danced,

I hope you don't make it the last

Please don't let me be the story

That haunts you from the past.


Don't feel the ghost of me

Silencing the applause,

Let my memory carry you on your jumps

And soften your falls.


Don't make me wish you never loved me

Or knew me at all

If it stops you from the awe of lovers,

Thundering auditoriums and halls.


If I had just another moment of joy

You know I'd come to watch you dance

But if I'm the sorrow chaining you

Don't give me a second glance.


Will you let me go. No, Let me go.

Please remember the first time you danced.

38 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page