top of page
  • Hemamalini S

Winter Warmth

I watch them bite their nails, tie their lace, knowing all too well they had no praise, for their essays and their grades. With all of their fails, they mask their despair. Yet they stand around me and ask me about my day.


They get eachother flowers, write cute notes on the covers. Bring a lot more to the table than just compassion, respect and love,

never let me give up, all with a friendly shove. I stand learning a lot more than I ever did in school, knowing with them, life's not all that awful.


They love my hair and braid it all the way. They tell me not to wear heels only for them to hold them by the end of the day. They say it's nothing, but all these nothings have meant more to me than so many somethings.


57 views

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page